On Adoption

I have several friends and family members who have adopted children, and I don’t think I could ever convey what a blessing they have been to their lives and ours.  Rose, the 10-month-old that I babysit every day is one of those children.  I can’t imagine my life without her, and I daily thank her birth mom for having the strength to give her a better life.  I am also quite aware of the fact that she could have easily chosen abortion instead of adoption.

Now, I don’t want this to sound like I am condemning those who have had an abortion.  I know a couple of women who have chosen abortion, and I know what a difficult choice it was for them.  I also did a brief stint as a counselor at a crisis pregnancy center, and I know the grief that women feel after that choice.  I myself had an unplanned pregnancy at the age of 19, and I know the worry, panic, etc that accompany that situation.

I wish that abortion wasn’t an option except in extreme cases, but more than that, I wish mothers would know that it isn’t the only option.  I can’t imagine how difficult it would be to give my baby to someone else, knowing I would probably not see her again.  But I do know how much those children are loved by their adopted parents, and there is no better life for them than to be adored by parents who were otherwise unable to have children.

For those of us who have never struggled to get pregnant, I think it’s really hard to fathom the agony and frustration of many years of failed attempts, sometimes even with hormone treatments and IVF.  I have seen friends and family struggle with this, and I know the heartbreak of that hope of success being dashed yet again.  Even the adoption process can be fraught with difficulties, as birth parents can change their minds at any point.  So while adoptive parents may not love their children MORE than birth parents can, I think they do truly appreciate the blessing of being a parent in a way that the rest of us don’t quite comprehend.

So I guess what I want to say is this: if you find yourself facing an unplanned pregnancy, please consider that there are loving families out there that are capable of giving your baby everything that you’re currently unable to give.  You will be blessing that family more than you can ever know!

What Do YOU Think?

