New Recipe Tried: Cheesy Spaghetti Squash Casserole

We have been wanting to try this new recipe that we found on Detoxinista.com, Cheesy Spaghetti Squash Casserole.  This afternoon, we were descended upon by a plethora of college students who had planned a long-term old-school movie marathon.  Since they had brought many snack foods with them, and I had an extra-large spaghetti squash, I figured I could try it tonight, and have lots of guinea pigs for my experiment.  😉  Besides, we’d still have leftovers for lunch or dinner tomorrow.

I think most of the “kids” started with a very small taste, as they were wary of the squash, but apparently it was unfounded concern.  Although I must say that I’m a tiny bit disappointed that there’s not much to speak of for leftovers, I’m THRILLED that the recipe went over so well!  It was a quite full 9 x 13, and has maybe two smallish servings or one large serving left!  My only complaint about the recipe itself is the same problem I’ve had with every spaghetti squash recipe I’ve found so far–they only list a “medium” spaghetti squash in the ingredients.  I would love it if they would include info on roughly how much cooked squash this ends up being, or what their definition of “medium” is.

Since my spaghetti squash seemed particularly large to me, I used 1 1/2 C of Greek yogurt (instead of 1 C) and I doubled the cheese (and then some, as you can never have too much cheese!  :D)  I added cubed ham as well.  I think it ended up being just a little too much yogurt, but it tasted pretty awesome, as can be attested to by the lack of leftovers!  Incidentally, I always substitute a small amount of shallot whenever a recipe calls for onions, as my husband is sensitive to onions, but shallots don’t seem to bother him.

I think it was better than any hash brown casserole I’ve ever had, and far more nutritious.  I think it would be great as a breakfast “hash” with bacon and/or sausage!  This will definitely be a repeat recipe in our house, and I can imagine several variations.

Do any of you have other suggestions?

 

One thought on “New Recipe Tried: Cheesy Spaghetti Squash Casserole

  1. I had to go bookmark the recipe. And now I want to try it!

What Do YOU Think?

