Aspartame in Milk WITHOUT LABELING!?!?!?

What??  Surely this can’t be true?  Ah, but it is.

Two powerful dairy organizations, The International Dairy Foods Association (IDFA) and the National Milk Producers Federation (NMPF), are petitioning the Food and Drug Administration to allow aspartame and other artificial sweeteners to be added to milk and other dairy products without a label. Read more.

Regardless of whether you think aspartame is “safe” or not, being allowed to add a manufactured chemical to something so prevalent is pretty scary.  If they allow this, where is the cut-off line?  How many other chemicals can they add without letting us know they’re there?  What about those of us who are sensitive to aspartame??  In my case, it can cause pretty severe migraines.  And sometimes it’s hard enough to avoid, even with it clearly written on the labels.  Now mind you, I’m not a hard core “pure food” fanatic.  Just because I try to feed my family as many pure foods as possible does not mean that everyone else should be forced to.  But I definitely think that food ingredients fall into the category that should include full disclosure.

What do you think?  Does it surprise you that they’re even considering this?  Am I being far to reactive?

4 thoughts on “Aspartame in Milk WITHOUT LABELING!?!?!?

  1. Why? Why does milk need to be sweet? When I actually drank milk, I would drink it to counterbalance the sweet I was already eating! Why would I want sweeter milk too? If I wanted sweeter milk, I would drink chocolate milk!

    • I think one of the things that they were proposing was that it be added to chocolate milk INSTEAD of the sugar that was already added. And kids are turned off by healthy labels, so we shouldn’t have to put it on there plainly, for all to see.

  2. I would rather my kids eat pure sugar than artificial sweeteners.

What Do YOU Think?

