DIY Project: Converting Mini-Blinds to Roman Shades

I have lived in this house for 14 years, and have wanted to do something with the window treatments in the living room for that entire time.  Time, money, and simply not being able to decide what I wanted to do have kept me from doing something.  Story of my life.  😀  The windows currently have cheap vinyl mini-blinds that have taken a beating over the years (one got quite enthusiastically chewed on by a kitten who liked to sit on the back of the recliner in front of that window).  There’s no extra decoration of any kind.

Those of you who know me know I have a tendency to pick big, challenging projects and then take a long time to finish them, because I also tend to have a little too much on my plate.  But this idea for a simple conversion from mini-blinds to Roman shades seemed liked something I could certainly tackle in a relatively short period of time.

Even though I can sew, and I have made window treatments before, I like that this idea doesn’t require any sewing at all.  I haven’t bought the fabric yet, though, so I’ll have to see if I’ll need to finish the raw edges.  I suspect that I will put a small hem all the way around, even if it’s not required, just so they’ll last longer.  And since you remove most of the slats anyway, I can pitch the chewed ones.  😀

I also want to build a wooden cornice with a built-in shelf.  I prefer stained wood to painted, but since the window trim is painted, I’ll probably paint the cornice to match.  I want to use these small shelves to put Rob’s Coke collection on display (it’s currently squashed together on the mantle downstairs) as well as his Star Wars micro-machines collection (currently packed away in a box).

We have six windows total, two singles and two doubles.  Even if I get moderately priced fabric (although I’m hoping for a real deal), it will save a LOT of money doing it myself.  Besides, then I get EXACTLY what I want!

2013-04-30_09-38-35_376.jpg

This is the double window behind our sectional sofa. You can see it’s pretty plain.

2013-04-30_09-37-23_762.jpg

Here’s the kitten-chewed blind.

I’m planning on doing something similar to this for the shelves

 

My last big project was refinishing a recliner.  Very rewarding, but very challenging and time-consuming.  I’m expecting this project to be much less of both.  I’m looking forward to making the living room more inviting!

What Do YOU Think?

